My story

Well. It was a rough year.

I had a seizure in August 2014. I've had many before. I'm a Type 1 diabetic, and when my blood sugar is catastrophically low that's what happens. Two days later, I fell and broke my foot. I did okay with that, walked around with the plastic Stormtrooper-looking cast, hauled it up and down stairs, etc.

I will add that fortunately for me I am a college professor. The story of the past year could have been much more difficult if I had a job that required a great deal of physical labor and/or prevented me from being flexible in my hours. I've had those jobs before. It wouldn't have worked.

When the cast came off my broken foot I found that my gait did not return to normal. I broke the right foot, but the left foot felt as though it was flopping at every step. The orthopedic surgeon shrugged. Not his problem, not his foot. I kept going about my business, but I was tired. I felt more and more as if I were trying to walk through wet concrete. I had unbearable bouts of itchiness down my spine. I began to feel dizzy in the shower, and stiff in the calves. I spilled something in my office, and was barely able to kneel down to retrieve it, and unable to stand back up once I had knelt down.