Operations

Hi, im Jan a 62yr old who as cidp for 21yrs,i had an operation and after I was freezing at 4.15in the morning 2 days after op,i got up and made a coffee and went back to bed in my housecoat and socks and snuggled up to my husband,i asked the doc if it was to do with op and he said he had never heard of it,so I am putting it down to cidp as anyone else had anything like this happen to them after an operation I would like to hear from you, I also have my pins an needles never got rid of them.

Yes, I have read that an operation can be the initiator of GBS and perhaps CIDP. I wonder about this, as muscles and nerves are being traumatized. But, I am learning through my layman reading towards a medical degree, there are many mysteries the body will present to you over the course of your life.

Maybe it was the coffee?

Juan Valdez

I had never heard of CIDP until I was diagnosed with it and I am a nurse. Most of my patients are geriatric and while at times they will complain of pins & needles, we chalk it up to nerve damage from the incision OR inflammation caused from the surgery itself. I don't have any patients (to my knowledge) with GBS, either.

I have had “frezzing spells” but not after an operation. Some days after a bad day the day before, I don’t even want to get out of bed b/c I’m soooo cold ---- and I’m a 5:00am riser. Though it is 70 deg in the house and a nice day outside, I’m still under the heating blanket most of the day. It usually happens the week after the IVIg. Cause ???

I SWIM THE LAST DAY OF AN INFUSION AND THE NEXT DAY. THIS ALWAYS SEEMS TO KNOCK THE SLUGS OUT OF MY BODY.

Starting in January, I'm going to once a weekly infusions of 40 grams/week because my bi-monthly leaves me in a trough after 8-9 days.